//
you're reading...
Journalism, News, Opinion

Things don’t change the world, people change the world~Steve Jobs (1955-2011)

By Rhonda Alexander

…And cheers to you Steve Jobs for being a magnificent manifestation of this statement.

Mention the iPhone, Mac, iTunes, iPod, iPad, even the idea of branding your company with the image of a partially eaten apple to changing the language used to describe your company’s products and you’ve got one heck of an ice breaker.  Who would ever have thought that a letter of the alphabet would come to symbolize an international brand?

Steve Jobs, that’s who.

His singular demand for unfaltering faith in his lead may have raised a few eyebrows, but no one can say the man didn’t have a vision.

We’ve lost yet another icon-another person who-because of his passion for the work he did, made the world we live in-a better place because he was a part of it. How many people will ever be able to stake that claim?

It may have started with Johann Gutenberg with his invention of the printing press and the first 200 bibles in 1455; but Ben Franklin and Thomas Edison came along and took communication and technology to the next level with their respective contributions to the advancement of society as we know it today.

Yes, there are very few who have passed through this zenith and made such an incredible impact, but ironically-at least to me-those who have the most impact seem to do it in the shortest amount of time.

I feel as if that is the true lesson to learn from the life of this man who lived only fifty-six years. Don’t waste time because in a very short time there won’t be any more time.

I sheepishly admit that I still don’t own an iPhone because I’m in love with my Android but, my MacBook Pro has changed my life. And I’m sure eventually, I’ll succumb and at least try the iPhone out to see how it compares to my Droid, even if I do leave it in the store. So, I just wanted to take a moment and say thanks Steve for making life easier for me-someone you knew you would probably never meet but wanted to make life easier-anyway. Cool beans!

About rhondasgoodlyfe

Multimedia professional on a gratitude journey! Join me!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Written by Rhonda Alexander, MS (and current MA candidate) of DePaul University. I am passionate about writing and all things social media. I'm primarily self-taught in a lot of the various aspects of social media and I really enjoy learning about the different methods that are coming to the forefront for individuals to be able to connect with one another.

Categories

